THE CURLY BRAIN

10468074_10204235846868690_2829353394196647810_n

So…Curly Mom speaking…here we are just 7 weeks from the start of our Curly Girl Adventure!!!!  I am so excited I want to squeal…wheeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!  (Mom, turn it down.) We each put our last deposit into the Curly Girl Fund and I can only hope that we budgeted well!! (We either did, or we’re living in the wilderness, eating cactus for the rest of our lives.)

So how did this all come about?

Well, Julia knew she was graduating Seton Hall in 3 1/2 years and wanted to do some traveling through our beautiful country.  But her boyfriend was working and her girlfriends all had school or other commitments.  I slowly raised my hand in the air like a shy kid asking the teacher “pick me!! pick me!!!”

Julia looked at me with a look like “really?” And I’m thinking: sure, why not?!!!  Then she did that “I will not roll my eyes I will NOT roll my eyes” glare while taking in the idea of spending over 30 days with her goofy mom (I don’t think I was worried about the ‘goofy’ part, Mom…)

She took a little while to process this venture and finally said “Let’s do it!!”  Probably because going with me was better than her going alone. And you know what? I can live with that.

I am a big dreamer and it’s hard for my curly crazy twisty brain to just be satisfied with a cross-country trip with my daughter for 4 weeks. (Or to remember what she had for breakfast this morning.)  I kept thinking about all that driving time.  What productive thing can we do with that?  Obviously catch up on reading, sleeping, maybe learn Spanish! Maybe I can finally learn the lyrics to the Sugar Hill Gang rap song! (Thank god for headphones, right?)

But why not something bigger!!!!?? (Mom, it should be illegal for you to use that many exclamation marks.)

So… I suggested we write a book about mother/daughter relationships.  I said we can interview each other during the driving time coming up with funny and also serious topics – really allowing ourselves to be open and vulnerable.  I suggested we don’t share any of the writing with each other until after the trip because if we are really vulnerable and honest then there will be some opinions written that may be hard to read.  And I didn’t want Julia fighting or me pouting on the trip. Fighters and Pouters are just incompatible!!

We have a very unique relationship and I’m excited to see how it all comes out.  Of course Julia already has a list of chapter topics that relate to Curly Hair… it’s going to be awesome!!!!

Okay…now I just teared up…thinking how lucky I am to go on this adventure.  I mean we are just ordinary people. Of course I can’t “afford” this trip, but I decided I couldn’t afford NOT to.  This is some heavy duty memory making and isn’t that what it’s all about?!!!

So what if we eat Ramen for the next 6 months and I wear a hat for the next year cause I can’t afford to get my hair colored.  (Yeah! And we’ll stop showering!) I can live with that.

It all started with a little layered Curly Girl thought.

Joyfully,
Curly Mom

10805551_10204235844708636_4199411733253888709_n

4 thoughts on “THE CURLY BRAIN

  1. Lynn- I was your Zumba student in Clark going back before 2010. Such an adventure you & your daughter are embarking on. Glad you are sharing. Hope your book makes lots of money. Kudos to you both! Good luck!
    Donna

Leave a comment